Nonesuch Records have revealed the tracklist and a number of details relating to Jonny Greenwood’s (Radiohead) soundtrack to writer/director Paul Thomas Anderson’s new film ‘The Master.’ The soundtrack comprises of 11 compositions by Jonny Greenwood along with four recordings from the movie’s era. Performers include the London Contemporary Orchestra, AUKSO Chamber Orchestra, Ella Fitzgerald, and Jo Stafford, among others. This is the second Paul Thomas Anderson film that Jonny Greenwood has scored. Their previous collaboration, the critically praised soundtrack for 2007’s Academy Award–winning ‘There Will Be Blood,’ was also released by Nonesuch.  Pre-orders of ‘The Master’ soundtrack are available now in the Nonesuch Store and include an instant download of Jonny Greenwood’s “Application 45 Version 1″ from the album. ‘The Master’ soundtrack is released on September 11th.

Paul Thomas Anderson’s (There Will Be Blood, Magnolia) ‘The Master’ centres on the relationship between a charismatic intellectual known as “the Master” (Philip Seymour Hoffman) whose faith-based organization begins to catch on in America, and a young alcholic drifter (Joaquin Phoenix) who becomes his right-hand man only to begin questioning his manipulative mentor. “The Master” creates the faith-based organization after witnessing the horrors of WWII, in an attempt to rediscover who he is in post-war America. Laura Dern, Amy Adams, Jesse Plemons, Lena Endre and David Warshofsky also star in the film. As a huge Paul Thomas Anderson fan, ‘The Master’ is without a doubt one of my anticipated films of 2012….my hopes are sky-high! The film arrives in cinemas September 14th in the US and November 9th in the UK.  The synopsis for ‘The Master’ and Jonny Greenwood’s ‘The Master’ soundtrack tracklist can be read below.

Written and directed by Academy Award nominee Paul Thomas Anderson (the acclaimed director of, There Will Be Blood, Magnolia and Boogie Nights), this story stars Academy Award winner Philip Seymour Hoffman (Capote) and Academy Award-nominee Joaquin Phoenix (Walk the Line). Set in America in the years following World War II, a charismatic intellectual (Hoffman) launches a faith-based organization and taps a young drifter (Phoenix) as his right-hand man. But as the faith begins to gain a fervent following, the onetime vagabond finds himself questioning the belief system he has embraced, and his mentor. A truly one-of-a-kind drama, which promises magnetic virtuoso performances, the film marks the fifth collaboration between Anderson and Hoffman, following Hard Eight, Boogie Nights, Magnolia, and Punch Drunk Love.

The Master [Soundtrack] tracklist:

01 Overtones
02 Time Hole
03 Back Beyond
04 Get Thee Behind Me Satan – Performed by Ella Fitzgerald
05 Alethia
06 Don’t Sit Under the Apple Tree (With Anyone Else but Me) – Performed by Madisen Beaty
07 Atomic Healer
08 Able-Bodied Seamen
09 The Split Saber
10 Baton Sparks
11. No Other Love – Performed by Jo Stafford
12 His Master’s Voice
13 Application 45 Version 1
14 Changing Partners – Performed by Helen Forrest
15 Sweetness of Freddie