Paramount Pictures and Warner Bros. Pictures send word that principal photography on ‘Interstellar’ is officially underway in Alberta, Canada. The film will be released in IMAX and 35mm theaters on November 7th, 2014. Paramount Pictures will distribute in North America, Warner Bros. Pictures internationally. Directed and co-written by Christopher Nolan (‘Inception,’ ‘The Dark Knight’ Trilogy), the production will travel the globe and utilize a mixture of 35mm anamorphic and IMAX film photography to bring to the screen a script based on the combination of an original idea by Nolan and an existing script by Jonathan Nolan, originally developed for Paramount Pictures and producer Lynda Obst. The new script chronicles the adventures of a group of explorers who make use of a newly discovered wormhole to surpass the limitations on human space travel and conquer the vast distances involved in an interstellar voyage.

‘Interstellar’ features a prestigious cast that includes Matthew McConaughey, Academy Award winner Anne Hathaway, Academy Award nominee Jessica Chastain, Bill Irwin, Academy Award nominee John Lithgow, Academy Award nominee Casey Affleck, David Gyasi, Wes Bentley, Mackenzie Foy, Timothée Chalamet, Topher Grace, David Oyelowo, Academy Award winner Ellen Burstyn, and Academy Award winner Michael Caine.

The film is being produced by Academy Award nominee Emma Thomas (‘Inception,’ ‘The Dark Knight’ Trilogy) and Lynda Obst (‘How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days,’ ‘The Siege’). Renowned theoretical physicist Kip Thorne is consulting on the film as well as serving as executive producer, along with Jake Myers (‘Jack Reacher,’ ‘RED,’ ‘RED 2′) and Jordan Goldberg (‘Inception,’ ‘The Dark Knight’ Trilogy).

The behind-the-scenes creative team includes director of photography Hoyte van Hoytema (‘Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy,’ ‘The Fighter’), Academy Award-nominated production designer Nathan Crowley (‘The Dark Knight’ Trilogy), Academy Award-nominated costume designer Mary Zophres (‘Gangster Squad,’ ‘True Grit’) Academy Award-nominated editor Lee Smith (‘The Dark Knight’ Trilogy,’ ‘Elysium’), Academy Award-winning composer Hans Zimmer (‘The Lion King,’ ‘The Dark Knight’ Trilogy), and Academy Award-winning visual effects supervisor Paul Franklin (‘Inception,’ ‘The Dark Knight’ Trilogy).